Apple’s long-rumored foldable iPhone will be marketed as the “Duo” and start at $2,000 for the 256GB model, according to a new report. The device, which is expected to go on sale in October shortly after the iPhone 18 launch, will approach $3,000 for a fully configured 2TB version. That pricing is lower than the $2,500 starting point some analysts had predicted, a decision Bloomberg’s Mark Gurman attributes to Apple trimming its profit margin to boost demand. The report does not specify whether the Duo will be sold by US carriers or unlocked, but the price tag puts it in direct competition with Samsung’s foldable lineup.

The Duo is said to include Apple’s forthcoming A20 Pro chip and its C2 modem, along with dual 48-megapixel rear cameras and a 12-megapixel front camera. The device will reportedly support the Apple Pencil stylus and feature a magnetic hinge system. Its design will be wide, folding outward into a landscape orientation for video playback, similar to Samsung’s Galaxy Fold 8, and it will allow multitasking with side-by-side apps. The phone will be offered in dark blue and white.

The report also says that Apple’s new iPhone 18 Pro and Pro Max models will carry a $100 price increase over their predecessors. That bump is described as modest and also less than some observers had expected. The sources do not provide specific starting prices for those Pro models, only noting the increase relative to the prior generation. The information appears in Gurman’s latest newsletter, which was published ahead of Apple’s “Surprise and Shine” event scheduled for 10AM PT today.

The Duo’s $2,000 entry price undercuts earlier speculation that the foldable would cost $2,500 or more, which had made some analysts question consumer appetite. By pricing the 256GB model below that threshold, Apple may be aiming to attract early adopters who have so far shied away from foldables due to cost. The 2TB top-tier version at nearly $3,000 still places the Duo in luxury territory, however. The report offers no details on storage tiers between the base and maximum configurations.

For US consumers, the Duo’s launch timing in October means it will arrive after the standard iPhone 18 models, which are expected to hit shelves first. The device’s support for the Apple Pencil and its split-screen multitasking features position it as a productivity-focused alternative to Samsung’s foldables, which have dominated the US market for several years. The magnetic hinge system is a notable design choice, though the report does not specify whether it enables adjustable viewing angles or simply secures the fold. Apple has not yet confirmed any of the specifications mentioned in the report.

The event later today will likely provide official confirmation of the Duo’s name, price, and release date, as well as details on the iPhone 18 Pro price increase. TechManNews will have live coverage and hands-on impressions from the venue once the presentation begins. Until then, the figures from Gurman’s report remain the most concrete information available on Apple’s first foldable. The company’s decision to undercut earlier price predictions suggests it is prioritizing volume over margin in a category where Samsung has established a strong lead.

More gadget news from TechManNews.